The Real Test Quilt

After the flannel rag quilts, I decided to tackle what I would call a regular quilt, starting with precuts. I figured it would be a test quilt: Can I do it?  Would I like doing it? (Spoiler Alert: Yes and Yes!)
I learned a *lot* making this quilt.
First, I’d like to recognize the best resources who helped me along in this endeavor.  Truly, I couldn’t have done it without:
  • Diary of a Quilter’s Beginning Quilting Series
  • Cluck Cluck Sew’s Binding Tutorial
  • Any blogger than mentioned that stitching in the ditch and straight lines are  perfectly great ways to start quilting!
What I Learned:
  • Incorporate a solid or near solid // I like sashing.  I thought the patchwork would be fine on its own, but it needed some space to breathe. I added the purple sashing at the last minute, and I wish I’d added more.
  • Don’t forget the B’s! Backing, binding, batting… I was so proud of myself for finding the precuts cheaply on eBay, only to be stunned at what it cost to order backing.
  • It didn’t have to be that big! Why did I start with a twin sized quilt? It seemed a good idea at the time, but I could have edited the precuts and/or just used less of them and made a smaller quilt first!
  • It’s ok to pull a couple of the precut squares I don’t like. There were a few squares that just didn’t work for me, but I felt bad pulling them out. Then I remembered that the choice is mine, there are no quilting police, and to do what I wanted!
Front and back, all fabrics are from Moda Brighten Up! by Me and My Sister:

 

Leave a Reply

